As part of the post series on my beliefs as a teacher, today I would like to discuss the assumptions and principles about my role and aims as a teacher.
As everything else, I am sure these ideas are in constant change, so that if I was to re-write this post in a year or even a month, it might sound partially or totally different. However, I like the idea of bringing how I see myself as a teacher into focus, partly because I would love to come back to this post in a while and consider what and how things have changed.

My role as a teacher

I like the word ‘facilitator‘, as I’m convinced that a teacher can only help so much with learning. Most of the work has to be done by the learner.
However, as a facilitator it is my responsibility to help learners achieve their goals by:

  • analysing what learners need and trying my best to meet these needs;
  • planning my lessons in order to make the most of the time in class (most of my students are paying for a service, so they expect something back);
  • creating engaging lessons that students will want to come to;
  • encouraging learner autonomy by training the learners to work on language independently;
  • adjusting my teaching, the materials I use and my approach according to learner’s preferences, inclinations and interests as much as possible;
  • helping learners (especially YLs) expand their horizons by showing them different ideas, cultures, perspectives;
  • providing a model of successful language learner.

My aims as a teacher

My aims as a teacher are fairly straightforward: I want to be the best teacher I can be, in order to help students learn English successfully (for many of them it is a life or work necessity). If I can have a positive impact on their lives or simply on how they see English, that is the measure of my success.
To do so, I think CPD and self-reflection are essential, as well as the ability to learn from my mistakes and to “listen” to learners needs and aspirations.