This is just a very quick post on the wake of Brexit results. I have been reading a lot on the topic lately, so I can’t imagine writing about anything else at the moment.
I only want to share a link to a fantastic lesson based on a viral video you might have already seen somewhere by the brilliant on Kieran Donaghy of Film English. The lesson focuses on the topic of ethnic origins and the importance of cultivating an open mind.

The DNA journey

I used a modified version of Kieran’s lesson plan (including revision of family vocabulary and expanding on to less frequent words such as ‘ancestors’ or ‘great-grandmother’) with my intermediate adult students. Even though this area is not famous for its open-mindedness, the lesson worked really well, the students were involved and the conversation that resulted was fruitful, both in terms of language and content.